Running, roadside barriers and fogged up spectacles

9 Feb

One thing some people don’t know about me is that I am extremely blind. The joy of contact lenses… I mean I look and feel like the perfect specimen I know… but the truth is take away the small pieces of plastic I jam in my eyes every morning and I can’t see a thing.

Case in point.

The other morning I got up at 5:30am and went for a run in the driving rain. Why? Because I’m a driven, screwed up individual that’s why. This morning I decided to write this blog instead.

Anyway since it’s dark and no one else is up and about, I don’t mind showing off my disability to the entire world and so I put on my eight inch thick spectacles and trudge through the driving rain.

A word of warning… when it’s cold and wet and your all hot and steamy it’s better to go with the contact lenses. Oh the spectacles got fogged up all right… but that’s not why I ignored all the warning signs and catapulted over the bright orange roadside barrier put up to protect that repair works being done on the footpath.

I crashed into those road signs like a myopic rhinoceros because as I was running I was cleaning those spectacles on my shirt. The moral of the story is if you are going to screw up badly in public… do it when it’s dark and no one can see. Just don’t blog about it.

G

P:S: Follow my film making progress this week on http://www.twitter.com/geofftalbot

Leave a Reply

