News & Views

11 Feb

I always plan to do much. My father will tell you I was born with an overly optimistic spirit. I don’t think I cried when I was born… I think I came out laughing, slapped the doctor and said that was one hell of a ride.

Yesterday I seriously thought that in the space of three hours I could make 42 phone calls to see what people thought about our film. I managed 16. Which means two things…

1. I greatly overestimate the amount I can do in a day.
2. I now have 26 phone calls I must make today.

I like to set ridiculously outrageous goals. It works for me when I aim high, it gets me moving and it keeps me always looking to what’s ahead. Plus I actually can’t help it… I genuinely expect to be able to achieve these goals. Experience has taught me to take it easy and relax when I don’t quite get there. For me a goal is more of a direction to head towards than a result.

Someone once told me me that we greatly over-estimate what we can do in a year and hugely under-estimate what we can do in five. Maybe that’s true… but all I can think of right now is the 26 phone calls I have to make…

Someone please answer the phone and show me the money. I want to make this bloody film!

Leave a Reply

