In which shoe do you trust?

1 Mar

I’ve tried to be very professional and corporate in the way that I have approached people in the film industry. I have a professional looking website, and a well ordered and articulated business plan; these are good things because to any potential partners and collaborators they say “I am organized and I am trustworthy…”  But…

You can take an old shoe and you can coat it with polish and you can make it look almost like new, and the truth is…it’s a fine looking shoe.

But what if there was a much deeper, more beautiful truth to that shoe… What if that shoe had walked over ten thousand miles, had travelled across continents, had walked through deserts,  and had trudged through thick snow?  Surely the beauty and value of this shoe would not be in the polish, but in the lasting, defiant, persistent, rugged quality of the shoe itself?

To be professional is to put polish on your shoe and show it in the best possible light.

To be truthful is take the polish off and simply say ..” this is my shoe and it is worn; for it has carried me through the fiery trials of life… but it has lasted and it is good.

2 Responses to “In which shoe do you trust?”

  1. noemi March 2, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    my favorite note so far in your blog

  2. Paul Y q March 2, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    I am going to miss you my when you leave these shores my new found friend. Yet if you keep blogging it will be like you are just around the corner…so you don’t you dare stop!

Leave a Reply

