What is unforgivable…

13 Mar

Think of a crime that is unforgivable?

What could happen to you or someone you love that you wouldn’t forgive?

Do you believe in forgiveness at all?

People have vastly different opinions on this subject; and I’m not going to tell you that yours is right or wrong, I’m just interested in knowing what you think.

In my imagination I sometimes involuntarily become the victim of certain crimes (whilst reading the newspaper) and I feel a strong sense of revenge rise up inside of me. In life, I tend to find the smaller things, the constantly irritating minor offenses more difficult to forgive than the major screw ups inflicted upon my mortal soul.

Our film “Lucky & Rich” places the question of forgiveness as it central theme; as I begin to write the second draft I’m asking you to help by simply giving me your opinion… what is unforgivable?

P:S: There are no right or wrong answers, only real ones. Please keep your comments to no more than 7 sentences… it’s an equal world.

15 Responses to “What is unforgivable…”

  1. Jody March 15, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    Forgiveness is very difficult, particularly if you’ve been hurt. I find it hard to forgive people who have comitted crimes against children, the elderly and animals. I find I am more angry with people when they do something to hurt others than when they do something to hurt me. Is it my place to forgive people when the crimes they have comitted were not against me personally? If my partner, family or friend were murdered I don’t think it is my place to forgive them for it. It would have been the place of the victim.

  2. noemi March 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    As my internet line didn’t work yesterday, here are my thoughts from yesterday:
    Every morning I check what the headline of you daily blog says and I spend the day – all day until I got the time to seriously read and think about the whole note – contemplating what I would say to that topic (only the title).If it doesn’t seem to affect me, I try to imagine what you may say about that theme.
    My first and major thought today was exactlly that: “In life, I tend to find the smaller things, the constantly irritating minor offenses more difficult to forgive than the major screw ups …” (Btw: isn’t it also more difficult to cope with small mistakes we did in life then the big ones – even though they might have been fun? But thats another cup of the…)

    Back to topic: I experienced, that whenever I saw that the person KNEW WHAT THE MISTAKE ACTALLY WAS (that he/she did) and truely felt sorry about it, I was able to forgive (to be fair with the previous writers: no one killed or hurt my closest people ever – I don’t want to imagine what I would be able to do if someone did so).
    Unfortunately people often say sorry without trying to find out/understand what they did wrong…

  3. Shameka March 14, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    I like to believe that I can forgive people, but the truth is…I can never forgive anyone who has ever hurt me emotionally.

  4. Lora Barnett March 13, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    What is unforgivable? Very little in my experience. But the hardest for me to forgive is when the other person refuses to take responsibility for their part. Forgiveness is tough. But not forgiving is even tougher over time. Because then I re-live it again and again in my mind.

  5. Duane Moyle March 13, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    Wow, some heavy theology going on here.
    I wonder how things might be different if after the atrocious actions of 9.11 the US government (and people) had decided that enough death and hatred had happened and they were not going to respond with retribution and violence… What would happen if forgiveness happened at an international level?

  6. geofftalbot March 13, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    Please note that as long as your language is appropriate I will not sensor your opinion…

  7. Peter Lamb March 13, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    There is absolutely only one unforgivable crime- blasphemy against the Holy Spirit. That doesn’t mean cursing. It is when one says, “Holy Spirit Your testimony that Christ is who He says He is, the Son of God, the Savior of the World, is a lie. His death on the cross does not provide a reconciliation between God and men is a lie. You say He rose from dead, I don’t believe You.” That was Judas’ crime. That is exactly why Tex Watson can be forgiven of the horrible crimes he committed.

    I implore everyone who reads this to watch the Tex Watson’s amazing story. It is 35 minutes well spent.

    http://www.aboundinglove.org/media/index.php

  8. Donald G. Payne March 13, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Salvation is not a matter of believers trying to confess and repent from every sin they commit before they die. Salvation is not based on whether a Christian has confessed and repented of every sin. Yes, we should confess our sins to God as soon as we are aware that we have sinned. However, we do not always need to be asking God for forgiveness. When we place our faith in Jesus Christ for salvation, ALL of our sins are forgiven. That includes past, present, and future, big or small. Believers do not have to keep asking for forgiveness or repenting in order to have their sins forgiven. Jesus died to pay the penalty for all of our sins, and when they are forgiven, they are all forgiven (Colossians 1:14; Acts 10:43).

  9. Barbara Mackie March 13, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    It is easy to understand why the question of “what is unforgivable” has evolved into what is forgiveness. Our individual personalities will determine if we are the ones who will react with empathy for the victim or with anger and revenge against the perpetrator. I believe forgiveness is genuine when referring to inappropriate behaviour by friends or family but not applicable to serious crimes. No one can truly forgive those who commit them. Acceptance is not forgiveness.

  10. fearondemand March 13, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    I think it’s valuable for us to put ourselves in other people’s shoes, for a moment at least. More empathy is good. I do believe in forgiveness, but I also know it isn’t easy.

  11. Mike Morris March 13, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    I believe in forgiveness, but what is forgiveness? It seems to me that forgiveness is an ongoing activity that is never completed – that’s why it is so difficult for particularly heinous offenses. It’s willfully putting aside hatred and holding out love. Though no one truly finishes the act of forgiveness, they may reach a point at which the offense doesn’t hurt or irritate anymore. That’s not forgiveness; that’s a change of heart through distance and/or understanding. As others have said, crimes against children are particularly difficult, maybe impossible, to forgive.

  12. Tony Clark March 13, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    Well i’ll just reitterate whats already been said, child abuse, that is definately unforgiveable. The phrases ‘bullet in the head’ and ‘strung up’ come to mind. Forgiveness? Has alot to do with religion i think. Another crock. How such bad things can happen to such good people beggars belief. But hey, religion, thats another question on another day geoff.

  13. Sotiris Koukios March 13, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    Forgiveness demands spirituality and intellectuality. a more defined sense of yourself.
    Instead revenge is human and more easy to follow. Doesnt demand any complexity in feelings or rationality. The funny thing is that forgiveness is more logical , rage or revenge is more sentimental.

    I forgive because i’m human. Even if as Epicurus (ancient philosopher pre -socratian) said : You must follow your temptations as are still there… In that sense i have followed revenge as a way of acting.

    And the fight is still on..

  14. Sarah March 13, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    Forgiveness is an interesting thing to think about, isn’t it? It all depends on what we’re talking about… is forgiveness a heart attitude or an action, or both? I think that if someone did something horrible to my child, I would definately want justice, which I think is different from forgiveness. I would need to forgive that person at some point, because not forgiving eats you alive, but I would absolutely pursue justice, because it wouldn’t be right for the person to get away with what they did.

  15. Olive-Ann March 13, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    I believe in forgiveness….but it’s not something I hand out easily….

    I’ve sat here and thought about this….there are a lot of memories that came to mind but a lot of them turned out negotiable…..hurt inflicted by parents that we carry every day as adults…but I still love them…talk to them….friends who hurt us bigtime….life is short and I get on with it….

    There is one that would NEVER (and yes I can say never) gain forgiveness…..if anyone truly hurt my daughter…I’d hunt them down…..

Leave a Reply

