In all honesty…

16 Mar

I’ve made my share of mistakes in life and I’d be a fool not to admit that I’m probably going to make quite a few more… I’m pretty sure the people I’ve hurt the most are/were the people I was closest to.

Were my crimes unforgivable? I hope not because if they were then the damage I’ve caused is irreparable and if that’s the case I don’t think I’ll be able to forgive myself.

Forgiveness is a pain in the arse because it’s completely impossible and completely unfair, but I believe in it because until I ‘m perfect I can’t hope for a better alternative.

I think I hurt people most in life when I constantly and subtly put my own interests before theirs; perhaps selfishness is the basis for all crimes… big, small and enduring.

As an actor I am forced to face the controversial fact that somewhere within me exists the desire and ability to commit every act both good and bad that any human being has ever committed.

In my opinion forgiveness transcends justice, it’s so free and raw, it’s a scandalous superhero that breaks down prison doors and sets unworthy people free.

One Response to “In all honesty…”

  1. ginnie March 16, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    All crimes are unforgiveable and all crimes are forgiveable. In our own best interests we have to forgive else become bitter and angry and unhappy. Some things are harder to forgive. I think I would want to murder anyone who hurt my children. I hope I NEVER have to face that depth of forgiveness. Forgiving oneself is hard too. I know there’s a few people out there who I have managed to offend. It’s a really good/big topic Geoff. I like what you wrote. Am looking forward to the film.

Leave a Reply

