Hostel life to Hotel meeting…

27 Mar

I’m sitting in the foyer of a hostel on Fairfax and Melrose in Hollywood this morning, it’s a twenty four dollar a night special but at least they have got wireless.

I’m struck by the contradiction that in a few short hours I will be sitting in one of the flashest restaurants in Melrose with some hot shot Producer discussing the possibility of signing a deal to make a $20 million dollar film called “The Emancipation of Putz”. Of-course the big question in my mind is… what is she going to order and who’s going to pay?

I like the contradiction, I like the fact that I know both sides of life and I am well aware of the many artists who have walked this exact road before me. Of course I am also well aware that nothing may happen, that there maybe no deal, if that’s the case that’s fine too because there is nothing wrong with my life just the way it is.

One strongly held belief that helps me in these situations is the absolute belief that no one person can stonewall or block the path that has been chosen for you to walk. People can turn you down, tell you your crazy, take away your money but none of that matters if you simply keep on walking.

5 Responses to “Hostel life to Hotel meeting…”

  1. Olive-Ann March 27, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    I love reading your blog….and Rich is quite right you are an inspiration…..you know your path….and I’m sure you will get there regardless of what road takes you there….kia kaha!

    • geofftalbot March 28, 2009 at 6:10 am #

      Thank you all so much for your encouragement. It can be lonely and uncertain out here and your support means so much. G x

  2. Rich March 27, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    youre an inspiration bro…
    loving following your journey and the life snippets! hope you storm the meeting…

  3. Amy March 27, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    If she turns you down and expects you to pay, maybe you should say you need to go to the bathroom and then do a runner……
    Best of luck 🙂

  4. noemi March 27, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    Wise words, man!

Leave a Reply

