Only in Hollywood…

28 Mar

I had two meetings yesterday, the first was with the “contact” of a new friend, a sweet slow talkin’ American (we shall nickname Slim) who had worked on smash comedies such as “33 year old virgin” and “Knocked up.” The second was at Ago restaurant on Melrose where the water was $7 a bottle (thankfully she paid) with an equally sweet very well known female Producer we shall here-bye know by the alias of “Beebee.”

So Slim, my connected actor friend and myself are sipping iced herbal tea and eating parfait around a cafe table not far from the studio and what is truly fantastic is the ease of the conversation between the three of us. “Slim” loved the premise behind my film, he’s going to read both scripts and he told me that not only should I write it, but I should direct it as well. Slim was looking at me strangely while I drew down the herbal tea… he said I reminded him (hopefully just a little) of a young Steve Buscemi and that they were currently casting for such a role; so he took my acting cv as well.

On to Beebee at Ago, and another great meeting, this lovely, slightly older lady had the decency to point out to me that I was much cuter than Buscemi and she loves the script; she even thought that I was Jewish (it’s a Jewish comedy so that’s a compliment). When BeeBee showed me photos of her family and talked about her children, I knew that she would be a great person to do business with.

So on both counts the meetings were “incredible” and so “Hollywood” and of course as yet I still have no idea what will happen next… and I apologize for the eighth sentence.

3 Responses to “Only in Hollywood…”

  1. Paul Y q March 30, 2009 at 3:40 am #

    Buddy you are in the “land of dreams” where anything is possible and everything is “awesome” but there also exists in this land a dark underbelly where nightmares dwell. I wish you only success my friend.

  2. Doraz March 29, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Stay focused with your vision and you will achieve great success!

  3. Sidney March 28, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    Sounds exciting. Hope it leads to cool things.

Leave a Reply

