Dad…what makes the sky blue?

5 Apr

I’ve always wanted to know the answer to that question. I believe I asked my father several times as a small boy and I’m not sure he ever gave me a satisfactory answer. It seems the sky is always blue in California which is probably the reason for the question resurfacing. If there a science geek out there in cyberspace who can answer my question… please…please…please let me know.

Yesterday I sat by the pool and relaxed (first time in a long time) in a beautiful apartment block in Pasadena where I am couch surfing with my new best Canadian friends. I thank God for people who are kind to strangers…

I think when we bump into people on our journey through life who we naturally (almost supernaturally) connect with; we should grab a hold of those people and treasure them for dear life… for perhaps they are reason the sky is blue.

One Response to “Dad…what makes the sky blue?”

  1. noemi April 5, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    Wow…I’m sure thats the true reason for the sky is blue!

    I case you are interessted in a rumour I heard once, here it is:
    Transmitted light is made up of a spectrum of colors. The longest wavelengths of light are on the red end of the spectrum and the shortest wavelengths are on the blue/violet end of the spectrum. A clear cloudless day-time sky is blue because molecules in the air scatter blue light from the sun more than they scatter red light. When we look towards the sun at sunset, we see red and orange colours because the blue light has been scattered out and away from the line of sight.

Leave a Reply

