Life is poetry…

6 Apr

This is kind of my secret (although not anymore) but I hate personality tests.

I hate the idea of being psychoanalysed and put in a box, being guided in a certain direction and being told, you act this way because you are an “A type” personality or you tend to let people take advantage of you because you have a “Labrador” demeanor… dogsh#%t!

This may all come down to my inherent dislike of labels or maybe it sits at a much deeper level. The essense of being ‘essentially human” seems to me to be about having the ability to make choices; to be whichever, whatever or however you want to be. The fact that we fight both ourselves and others for this type of freedom further illustrates my point.

To be able to define and label something as wildly creative and unpredictable as ourselves may provide us with the safe illusion of self knowledge but it can also provide subconscious limits that prevent adventure and exploration into the unknown. No one knows what will happen next, what you will say or what you will do, you have have an unlimited array of choices… your life cannot be defined; for it is living poetry.

10 Responses to “Life is poetry…”

  1. Jamie G April 7, 2009 at 2:25 am #

    Glad you’re getting some good responses, Geoff. I have been enjoying following your blog for a while now..

  2. Emily April 6, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    I have a half hearted view of personality tests – in fact I regard them the same way I do horoscopes – they can tell you some interesting things about yourself, but essentially, the human character is too complex to be defined so neatly.

    I think evaluating or understanding ‘personality’ through a postmodern lens is more realistic as this accepts that we have multiple personalities because we adapt our personality depending on a scenario – where we are, who we are with, what we are doing and how we feel on the day etc.

    For me, people and characters are more interesting when viewed this way, as opposed to being labelled or neatly defined.

    • geofftalbot April 6, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

      I totally agree… different day… different circumstances and with different people our personalities change throughout the day. I think that diversity makes us interesting

  3. Paul Y April 6, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    In times of peace and normality life is whatever meaning we choose to give it – to some its is poetry, to others it is chaos and others every day is banality. Within the constraints of our environment & circumstance we are all meaning making machines. That is what I love about Mr Talbot’s writings – so thought provoking. Cheers mate

  4. yogiyoung April 6, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    I wish life was a poetry, it has the potential to be. However, we are creatures of habit and full of conditioned responses. We think the same things today as we did yesterday, as we will tomorrow.
    In this world of infinite possibilities, I reminded daily of my limited world-view, distorted perspective, and restricted thinking.
    Oh, how I wish life was poetry.

  5. Jamie G April 6, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    Amen to that, Geoff. Never let anyone construe or contort you in to being anything more than your good self. Hope the hunt for a fairy Godmother/ Producer is going as well as can be expected given the current climate; am glad to hear you got out of the fleebag hostel- i’m told they are Dickensian at best. Alas I may soon be experiencing their dubious charms first-hand.. I’ll be sure to hit you up for some tips. Seven sentences, and out.

    • geofftalbot April 6, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

      Thanx jamie…spray yourself in Calamine lotion before you sleep! ANd good point I think all replys to my blog should be seven sentences or less.

  6. Mike April 6, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    You know, it can be really bad to put people in boxes – that’s how stereotypes and prejudice get disseminated.
    I also think that it can help me to get outside of my box if I know the box.
    I could just blame my personality for things that happen to me in life, but I believe that it is possible to use what I know about myself to overcome aspects of my personality.
    And like you said, everyone wants to be able to make choices.
    It’s everyone’s responsibility, then, to avoid making judgments about people without really knowing them.
    And predictability is a two-sided coin: on one side, it can make you boring; on the other side, it can make you approachable and lovable.
    Poetry is a dichotomy: a vivacious, untamable spirit woven together with something that can be grasped because it is familiar – predictable.

    • geofftalbot April 6, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

      I love it… very true… especially the last sentence on poetry

  7. Iliana April 6, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    I think personality tests help you to know better yourself and there is nothing wrong in it. I agree and like your last sentence! Our lives are unpredictable and changeable so life is “living poetry”.

Leave a Reply

