Chicken

9 Apr

Most of the time I feel very comfortable here in LA as I sample the American life and meet with film people etc. But I would be lying if I didn’t admit that from time to time I feel like a chicken in the middle of a busy intersection.

I guess that’s the country boy (I have rural roots) from little old New Zealand shining through. Sometimes when I’m standing in the middle of the street flapping my clipped wings and watching the world race by I crave the simpleness of the green grass of home. You can take the boy out of New Zealand but you can never take New Zealand out of the boy.

But occassionally in this city a very strange thing happens, the traffic stops and everyone gets out and stares at that little chicken in the middle of the busy intersection. I guess the point of the analogy is this… When you are afraid and feel like you don’t belong, you may be in the right place and you’ll probably stop traffic.

Leave a Reply

