The re-imagining process…

14 Apr

Ever come across a problem you can’t solve? When writing screenplays I often spend more time walking around the neighbourhood trying to solve the unsolvable than I do actually writing. When there is a problem in the creative process it can literally drive you crazy… here is something that helps me; it may work for any problem?

I read some great advice in a terrific book by Judith Weston called “The Filmmakers Intuition.” Judith warns against trying to fix a problem because it turns a creative process into a mechanical one; her belief is that you should go back to square one and re-imagine. 

I think of re-imagining as going back to the start and trying to look for as many “options” as possible. I imagine that it is best not to look for a right or wrong answer but to simply enjoy exploring the possibilities… until you make a decision it”s all imaginary anyway.

3 Responses to “The re-imagining process…”

  1. Amy April 14, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    In the world of film making it is, as you said, imaginary but there is something great about walking around the neighborhood and procrastinating – its what I do best 🙂

  2. noemi April 14, 2009 at 10:30 am #

    Why is there no “like” button down here 😉

    I often feel like pressing the “like”-button (as it exists on FB) saying: I read it and I like it.

    Keep going! Regards x

    • geofftalbot April 15, 2009 at 6:58 am #

      Thanks Noemi! I think there is a rating function on the subscription email… also if you really love it you could digg it? I will try and add some functions! Geoff

Leave a Reply

