Oh… to be young again.

16 Apr

I was ambling down Venice Boulevard just after six this morning, there weren’t many people out and about to see the Californian sunrise; only a few early morning commuters and occasionally dog walkers drifting down the sidewalk. My character “Rich” who I’m working on for our film “Lucky & Rich” is homeless and he does a lot of a wandering, so walking around strange cities seems like a great way for me to get to know Rich.

The one thing I know for sure about him is that he is incredibly lonely and he loves to try and talk to strangers. One thing that makes Rich sad is that there are a lot of strangers out there who really don’t want to talk to him or anyone it seems. As he passes people in the street, he sees their shutters come up, they look away, they pull on their social mask, they disappear somewhere way down deep inside, he don’t know where…

Here’s the strange thing…  it’s only the children who stare, the children who smile and explore, they seem to be the ones who have no fear. Oh to be young again.

4 Responses to “Oh… to be young again.”

  1. geofftalbot April 17, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    Very cool comments. I love your personal honesty. Thanks everyone. Geoff

  2. Laura Bowman April 17, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    so true, reading a book now “Refrigerator Rights” that talks about our disconnect. It’s not only the homeless our eyes avert, so often if’s anyone we don’t know. We don’t take a second look to see what is there. Movie sounds good

  3. Gunnar April 17, 2009 at 4:00 am #

    I’m like that. I avoid contact. It’s because I’m shy, not because I don’t like homeless people.

    My son is the opposite. He says hi to everyone. He’s 5 years old.

    My son is my mentor. 😉

    God bless from JesusTweeter at Twitter.

  4. verwon April 16, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    Excellent writing. You poignantly capture what many homeless and poor people face on our streets everyday. I’ve been there, poor and homeless and it is not an experience I would wish on anyone. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

