Stop the bullshit after midnight…

22 Apr

There is a mosquito buzzing around my head, it’s 2:30 AM and I am blogging well past midnight. The truth is there is another mosquito buzzing around inside my head and it is sucking the life from my dreams and drinking from my sleep.

There are people in my life right now who are exaggerating beyond belief; their constant name dropping is as sickening as golden syrup. The stories they tell about their pasts are fantastical and their plans for the future are so ginormous as to be incomprehensible. They appear very keen to create confidence and momentum in their business but instead their embellishments make them look fraudulent and insecure and it’s obvious to everyone else but them.

I suppose I should be worried that they might read this blog; actually I hope that “you” do. I don’t want to embarrass you, I just want you to stop all the needless, pointless, ridiculous bullshitting and start being you.

P:S: Believe it or not I was just doing a final proof on the blog and I nailed the mosquito.

8 Responses to “Stop the bullshit after midnight…”

  1. verwon April 22, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    Great post, Geoff, and as fits with my personality

    • verwon April 22, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

      Hey, it didn’t put in that I was slapping them all for you and leaving! LOL!

  2. JR April 22, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    yes me too. Im off work with a flu and winter is creeping into the valleys. Its quite lovely. Come home when your ready brother!

  3. JR April 22, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    Yes I was laughing at the irony of using a blog forum to rant about how blog rants boggle me haha. Life is funny. I was actually refering to the weird status updates people leave on facebook rather than this blog, this blog is interesting! I like where your going with it, autobiography is a cool way of looking at it too. I think I just was bothered by a friend who used to text me the HEAVIEST texts about how his life sucked etc etc but when you went to talk to him in person he was like “What? Oh Im sweet nah nah yeah” and I see the same thing on the internet, people spilling these intimate interiors that they would never reveal except for the fact that they somehow feel anonymous on their whatever site profile and it just makes it awkward to see them in “real life” if you get my drift.

    Anyway its good to write.

    Powerful tool indeed!

    Love JR

    • geofftalbot April 22, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

      LOL I wish very much I could have a rant and a cup of tea with you right now little brother! G

  4. geofftalbot April 22, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    LOL! Great comments… yes definitely guilty of your own crimes… why didn’tyou call and ask me round for a cuppa? hmmm! Other side of the earth is probably why. Phone call. Email? More intimate & private? I guess your frustration with “Incessitant” blogging bought on a desire to have your voice heard? And you had to use the medium (blog/forum) through which you could best communicate with your audience.

    I think of this blog as a book. You can read a book about someones life and the best ones always include their most challenging moments, their good times, their rough times, their mistakes (when they say things they shouldn’t) etc. It’s always in past tense… does that make it safer and more acceptable. Or does that make it more measured, less exciting and less authentic?

    I think of this blog as a live moment by moment autobiography that people may or may not want to read. But by being live it also offers the reader a chance to interact like you have done. It’s just a new way of communicating but certainly not the only way and definitely not in my opinion the best way.

    Face to face is always the best way to do relationships I totally agree… but it’s not the only way… nothing wrong with a bit of both.

    While blogging can be abused… there have been many examples where the internet has been used to give powerless people a voice. I agree however it’s still important to have character and strong values and to try your best to behave.

    Love it.
    G

  5. JR April 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    What ever happened to a cup of tea and a chat as a way of expressing how we are feeling!?

    Journaling (diurnus) certainly is good for clarifying the mess of the mind and later for mapping our ‘journey'(diurnum) but whats with this insistent desire for all to see this very intimate journey?

    I think that the phenomenon of this kind of blogging is not unlike that of road rage and the mob, all of these environments create a false sense of anonymity where we can do or say anything without consequences. This is where the delusion comes in.

    “What is ironic about this new world of ever-increasing opportunities for self expression and openness is that it leads to a reduction of openness.”

    Agreed! I think everyone needs to look at the lighter side of life on the net and leave the deep thoughts to chats with people we trust over a beer or a walk in the park where we cant hide behind: the people around us(in the instance of the mob), the four windows of glass (ROAD RAGE), or the cold glow of a computer screen(facebook/twitter/what ever).

    keep it real?

    JR.

    P.S Sorry this response wasnt exactly related to your post geoff, just a provoked thought that needed to come out, hope im not guilty of my own crimes! ^_^

  6. Mike April 22, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    What is ironic about this new world of ever-increasing opportunities for self expression and openness is that it leads to a reduction of openness.

    Most people can’t post how they are truly feeling or what they are actually doing on their blogs or on Facebook, Twitter, etc. because they know that their bosses, employees, future employers or clients could read it and be displeased.

    We are forced into saying only the positive things, or at least only positive things about our work and attitudes. The upside is that it is more uplifting to write positive things. The downside is that it can be frustrating to have to keep honest feelings to ourselves.

    And then there are those who cannot be dishonest or hide how they are feeling. This is good too; it helps those of us who are stuck inside our protective shells to know that there are still people out there who are honest and have a wide spectrum of emotions.

Leave a Reply

