Going solo…

1 May

A big thank you to all the people who are searching the internet to find Scrap, my 3-legged canine friend who will star in our big movie in Prague.  The search is proving difficult but I am convinced that if everybody keeps asking everybody; with only six degrees of separation eventually we will find him… again more info is at https://geofftalbot.wordpress.com/help-find-scrap.

To digress slightly, one thing I’ve become aware of lately is the solitude of my journey, and I am sure, somewhat ironically that I am not alone here. I desire very much to be part of a team rather than a go it alone filmmaker or a shoot from the hip entrepreneur.  It’s not as much fun doing things on your own and in truth, it is probably impossible to make a decent film all by yourself… although that would be an interesting film-making experiment!

One of my friends recently said to me… ” Geoff maybe it is better to have a small piece of a large pie; that a large piece of a small pie.” So I guess I’m going to keep searching for people who want to share my pie.

3 Responses to “Going solo…”

  1. Kid In The Front Row May 3, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    I think if you were to look back at the various countries you’ve been in- think about the filmmakers, writers and actors you’ve met – there are probably quite a few who have expressed an interest in working with you. Perhaps you’ve forgotten, or disregarded their interest. But I’m sure they’re out there.

    • geofftalbot May 3, 2009 at 8:01 am #

      you are definitely right. Interestingly someone else sent me an email in regards to this blog aying something similiar. Maybe I wrongly gave the impression that I was “alone” Its just that for me the first part of my process (the writing) is solitary but now when he comes to raising finance and structuring film deals and trying to get presales/soft money etc and developing the film further… it feels like I need teamates… which I do :-0

  2. verwon May 1, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    Well, me being me and supporting you 100% I say GO OUT THERE AND TAKE THE WHOLE DAMN PIE!

    I’m changing the old adage, I don’t think it should be “take what you can get” any longer, I think we should go out and “get what we can take!” (Please do not consider this an endorsement of any illegal activities!)

Leave a Reply

