Why I hate tipping in the USA!

2 May

Let me digress from the world of film for just one day…

Over the last 48 hours I have developed an incredibly sore back and so with much regret and limited dollars I took a trip to  घब४ॡ१०ष in little korea to see a chinamen we shall generically call “Kevin” for a “special” back massage. Kevin told me 4o bucks… no problem. So for an hour Kevin worked on my back with one hand only… I know he’s Chinese but nobody and I mean nobody is that good. And by the way… what was his other hand doing in his pocket?

After the massage I hobble over the counter to see Kevin’s mother and I give her 40 bucks… “tip?” seems like she wants extras for her boy… so I pull out the four $1 bills I have remaining in my pocket… “not enough” I am told, “robbery” I am thinking. So I break open a twenty only to be given two $10 bills back as change… so I am forced to give a $10 tip.

See I had stupidly fallen into thinking, that a tip was all about generous giving in gratitude for an excellent service… am I a grinch…what do you think?

P:S: Casting photos for our 3 legged dog are now coming in, you can check them out @Help.find.Scrap

3 Responses to “Why I hate tipping in the USA!”

  1. Corey May 3, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    Geoff, tipping is “generous giving in gratitude for an excellent service” in the US. You could have said, you are lucky to get 2 bucks for a tip and walked out of there.

  2. Kid In The Front Row May 3, 2009 at 6:13 am #

    A ‘Special’ massage? That means you got a happy ending right? I didn’t know you were that type of guy, Geoff.

    • geofftalbot May 3, 2009 at 7:56 am #

      haha lol… know it was not a happy ending… not for me anyway.

Leave a Reply

