The best currency…

13 May

I think there is something about not having much money that is good for the soul. It’s probably not even about money come to think about it.

Yesterday I was having grave doubts about my film dreams. I spoke to a friend on the phone, and his words, his wisdom, his encouragement lifted me up and restored my hope.

I am often tempted to try and create a life where I am totally independent, where I really need no one but myself.  But that would be like spending your whole life in a room eating pizza and attempting to clock a video game; and finally succeeding when you’re 73 and having no one left to tell.

Perhaps you are truly wealthy when you have a need that only a good friend can fulfil.

2 Responses to “The best currency…”

  1. Christine Marie May 14, 2009 at 3:27 am #

    Wow. This is my first discovery of your blog. I learned about you from Kathleen McGinnis so I looked you up. I must say I am moved by what you write, your analogies, and I agree with your ponderings of wealth. I look forward to meeting you here at Cannes. Hurry.

    • geofftalbot May 14, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks Christine. I look forward to meeting you as well.

Leave a Reply

