Committing creative suicide.

23 May

I’ve just arrived back in Britain after sitting on the plane all the way from Nice to Heathrow contemplating my future.  Those of you who regularly read this blog know that I am a man on a mission determined to tell stories; stories that cross cultural and social barriers and talk to the sort of people I pass as I walk down the street.

Right now I actually feel like I’m still on a plane, a much smaller plane only this time I am standing by an open door, with the wind in my hair and a parachute strapped to my back.

If I look at my bank account right now I really only have two choices. I can quit with the film stuff for a while, take off the parachute, close the door, spend what little I have and buy a plane ticket back to New Zealand.

But I feel so close to realizing my dream, with serious movement on both my films; I feel more creatively alive than I ever have.

Should I jump out of the plane and live or should I close the door and commit creative suicide?

19 Responses to “Committing creative suicide.”

  1. Lori May 27, 2009 at 12:32 am #

    Hi Geoff! I have spent so much time on your website as so many of my family and friends have all cheering on Rocky for the part of Scrap. I have found so much about your journey inspiring. I was a dancer for many years, then got into acting, then HAD to pay the bills so I got into sales. I still write and perform theatre on the side because I have to. If there’s a lag, I get a feeling of emptiness. I have so many times wanted to quit “working for the man” and do all the things I dream about; write children’s books based on my amazing boxer dogs, shoot a documentary, direct a foundation, etc. I so admire that you have made the choice to follow your dreams. Do it for all of us who have yet to GET ON THE PLANE. Don’t stop now. Your story is amazing. It has to be told! There is so much buzz over this project with scrap. I and so many of my family and friends have sent countless emails, posts on facebook, twitter ALL OVER THE US. We have printed flyers and left them at the animal hospitals, doggie parks and local businesses. I went through absolute hell with Rocky getting diagnosed with Cancer and having to have his leg amputated. I cried more than I did for my own grandmother’s funeral. I realize NOW that I was crying out of fear that this animal who I love more than I have ever loved anyone or anything might die. He didn’t die. In fact, he’s so incredibly healthy and happy and amazing. He makes me smile every day and he has touched so many people. When my friend emailed me your website and I read about your quest for find Scrap, I just knew he was the one. I will continue to utilize all of my marketing and networking to help Rocky help you promote your film! Whether Rocky is your Scrap or not, I think what you’re doing is fantastic and we are all behind you!!! I also invite you to our home in Los Angeles when you make your way through for dinner, drinks or just some awesome snuggle time Rocky. He’d love to meet you in person! All the best to you!!

  2. Daniella May 24, 2009 at 7:11 am #

    Jump. But consider that coming back to New Zealand may be part of the jumping process and not creative suicide. When one door closes, another one always opens and who is to say where that door should be? Who said that London has cornered the world market in open doors? Everything happens for a reason – why don’t you make your movie in New Zealand? It is cheap here and we have a whole bunch of talented, creative people who specialize in working on a shoe-string. We also have at least four three-legged dogs who would all be fantastic contenders for the role of Scrap. Perhaps this feisty pooch comes from small town New Zealand instead?

    • geofftalbot May 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

      You are right about NZ it is full of talented people… but unfortunately our story is about a New Zealander away from home! I appreciate your enouragement very much though!

      • Daniella May 24, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

        Think outside the square, perhaps your Scrap was a dog of Royal lineage who mistakenly found himself in provincial New Zealand? Whatever you do, look for opportunity and don’t give up – three legged dogs are an inspiration to everyone, the reactions from those who have posted on your website should tell you this. All the dogs are special and they all have a story that deserves to be told.

  3. Mike Morris May 24, 2009 at 6:22 am #

    I would also say jump. Easier said than done, I know. Having been burned in the past, I don’t know if I could make that decision. But you have no dependents except you and your films, and I know you want to do what is best for them. And, ultimately, that will be best for you too.

    • geofftalbot May 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

      Thanks Mike! I appreciate what you are saying and your honesty again! Geoff

  4. Paul Y May 24, 2009 at 4:57 am #

    Well my friend since your “door” is always open and therefore doesn’t really exist you really don’t have much of a choice…except when you jump you may find yourself changing direction halfway down! x

    • geofftalbot May 24, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

      like this

  5. Emma Tiebens May 23, 2009 at 10:39 pm #

    Oh Geoff! Your blogpost took me back a year ago when I too had the same choices to make and thank the good Lord that I chose to jump and live! Sometimes, we do things that no one understands, especially our pocketbooks! One thing that I have always lived by is this: God gave each person gifts that they need to utilize to live out their purpose so they can make a difference in other people’s lives. If we stop right before we see the success we are about to have, we are potentially shortchanging someone that will be extremely blessed by such success! What you might need to do is re-group, re-focus and ponder on this: What is it that you need to do in the next 90 days to get you closer to that success? Identify that and DO IT! The other thing is, you might want to find a mentor or a coach. I found Raymond Aaron (the gentleman who is one of Robert Kiyosaki’s and Jack Canfield’s mentors) I can do a personal introduction to you and him on Twitter whenever you’re ready. I will be praying for you my dear, dear Friend! Hugs, Emma 😉

    • geofftalbot May 24, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

      Thank you Emma… your words are very wise and encouraging. It seems the people are telling me to keep on going!

  6. Elena May 23, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    Jump. You only have 1 life. You’d might as well give it all you’ve got until you have NO more.

    • geofftalbot May 24, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

      alright!

  7. Olive-Ann May 23, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    JUMP….and don’t you dare come back here unless it’s to sit next to me at the premiere (which is something you have to do by the way 🙂 follow your dreams, your heart, and your passion….you WILL succeed…..maybe I need to send your hope blanket sooner than later…I will start knitting today! Kia Kaha Geoff!

    • geofftalbot May 24, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

      I shall be brave Olive Ann

  8. Kelvin May 23, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    JUMP!!

    With the biggest risk comes the biggest reward and if all fails then it’s not all lost as you start all over again but enriched by the lessons of your journey.

    • geofftalbot May 23, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

      Thanks Kelvin… you are a champion!

  9. Claire May 23, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    Firstly, are they mutually exclusive decisions? Personally, I would suggest to always follow your dreams, and expect miracles – passion and commitment from the heart will generate support, sometimes from the most unexpected places… 🙂

    • geofftalbot May 23, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

      Thanks Claire! I really appreciate it. What you say has been what I have experienced in the past. It seems that life is about continually committing further and giving more and more to follow the dream!

  10. laura May 23, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    Jump man, we’re also standing with parachute. We are planting a church, no jobs, no real support and savings running out. But following a directive from God.

Leave a Reply

