It’s not good… The dialogue is terrible… Rewrite it!

7 Jun

Imagine that you had a son that you loved very much and you let a relative stranger look after him for a day. When you picked the child up you ask the stranger… “so how was he?”

Pretty much everyone who has ever met your boy before this time has loved him and why wouldn’t they, he’s a great kid. But this stranger (who you have since researched and discovered has little experience with children and has never raised his own) utters these words… ” in all honesty he’s terrible, he’s kind of dumb and if I were you I’d start all over again.”

When someone gave me this feedback on my baby (my screenplay) I was shocked, stunned and amazed. I know my boy’s not perfect but when a stranger fails to see the wonderful things about him I got to tell you it hurts… but my stranger left me with some sage advice…

“Now… What separates you from the rest of the other million and a half starving artists in LA is how you handle the truth and what you will do about it!”

P:S: I’m thinking of a word and it begins with a C

6 Responses to “It’s not good… The dialogue is terrible… Rewrite it!”

  1. Anne June 8, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Remember Scrap is a survivor, & so are you. Would Scrap despair? Although he has much adversity, I think not! Stay true to what your heart tells you, the essence of the ‘baby’… But maybe keep being open to honest considered feedback…you can filter it through the ‘sieve’ of discrimination.. In other words, consider any little ‘gems’ truly worthy of consideration, and discard the rest ….. : )

    • geofftalbot June 8, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

      Very true thanks Anne. I had a much more promising meeting today in regards to Lucky & Rich. I really think it is going to happen! G

      • Anne June 8, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

        Oh well done, Blessings for the outcome, whatever happens : )

  2. lee Lynch June 7, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    Geoff. I’m a million miles away for you and still i feel your pain, remember. “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”,

    Lee

  3. Grant Dexter June 7, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Copyright?

  4. verwon June 7, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    I bet I can think of some better words than that…describing that person of course..but since this is your blog and not mine, I will refrain from using them.

    My friend, I will, however, tell you this…only give an idiot as much credit as they deserve.

Leave a Reply

