I repent of Spamming

8 Jun

Why Spam? In the past I have spammed out of a kind of greedy anxiety; I wanted as many people as possible to read what I had written and to be involved in my project. I was afraid that I would do all this work and no one would notice, no one would listen.

Unfortunately Spam takes the humanity out of the relationship and just turns the people you are trying to attract into numbers and conversely I found that it made me more anxious. I think there is an alternative to Spam that will still enable you to talk to a large number of people in a short space of time. All you need is a product that has value and ten to twenty on-line supporters who you have built a RELATIONSHIP with.

You ask them to simply pass the information on (advertise) to their friends in their online community (people they have relationship with) and if your product truly has value the news will spread. It takes a little longer than simply hitting send but it will build something sustainable that has lasting value.

3 Responses to “I repent of Spamming”

  1. Dan J June 9, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    That was a note about D-Day. I felt that was allowed.

  2. Dan J June 9, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Geoff sees the light!

    • geofftalbot June 9, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

      Careful kid in the front row I received a note tag from you the other day… lol

Leave a Reply

