What pisses me off…

21 Jul

I am writing this blog and I am burning with late night rage; it’s safe to say that things in LA haven’t been a bed of roses and I am not sure how much longer I will stay. If there is one thing that really pisses me off it’s a kind of arrogance that I have recently become a victim of.

Some of you will be aware that I am living the life of a homeless vagrant; having been clean cut most my life I now have long hair and a full beard. I also have very little (now zero) money, I want to understand the truth of my characters life, I want the authentic experience. What riles me right now is that certain people assume that because of my “appearance” I have no talent and that I am in some ways a lesser human being. Their prejudice and superior attitudes are “obvious” for everyone to see… if they just stopped for one second and listened then they would understand.

So I guess I’m having the genuine experience.

6 Responses to “What pisses me off…”

  1. Jerry July 22, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    Well Geoff, that’s L.A. for you, it’s a pretty shallow place, and why we escaped so many years ago. I’m sorry you’re going through that, but stay true to your dream and it WILL Happen.

    • geofftalbot July 22, 2009 at 11:13 am #

      Thanks Jerry… It’s all okay now but its very true what you say. Still there are lots of good people here. G

  2. DJ July 21, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

    It is good to vent the frustration! just don’t let the rage consume you;
    It’s an opportunity they’ve missed, and you will reach your goals through other connections.
    Perhaps you need to come home for a visit? only 2 degrees of separation here, LOL; have you seen the new Rhys Darby advert for 2Degrees? 😀
    Here is a link from a California Filmmaker. I dunno why, but I thought you might find it funny… and maybe that is how those fools will feel in time. –> http://mattkoval.com/never-ignore-a-nerd/ 🙂 Never judge a book by it’s cover!

  3. Mary C. Gardner July 21, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    If YOU believe in your goals and trust you will accomplish them…then it will happen. No one can stand in your way. It is what you put out into the universe that comes back to find you.

    “You don’t have to see the top of the staircase to take the first step.” (Martin Luther King, Jr.)

    • geofftalbot July 21, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

      I totally agree Mary. Thanks for your encouragement. G

  4. Grant Dexter July 21, 2009 at 3:20 am #

    I’m having the genuine experience of having to listen to someone complaining about nothing 😀

Leave a Reply

