Listening is pitching

23 Jul

The best way to learn to tell a story is to listen while you are telling it. Contrary to what you might think listening does not just involve your ears… it involves your whole being. The very first time I pitched our film ” Lucky & Rich” to the Czech film commission in Prague I did a very bad job of telling the story. It was far too long and to be honest I stuttered a little, but I managed to do one thing right, while I was talking I listened.

I was listening when I said “3 legged dog called Scrap” and I was surprised when my audience laughed. I am a very intuitive writer and Scrap simply was how he was, and up until that moment I had no idea that he would be so interesting to my audience. By listening I found out what was good and engaging about my story.

Leave a Reply

