Who are your favorite actors?

29 Aug

What makes someone a great actor? Is it believability? Or something a little more superficial like how good they look on screen? One criticism I often hear of actors is that “they are always the same?”

If an actor is listening (engaged) to another actor in the scene and has completed accepted his/her imaginary circumstances then they will be believable. For me  I think I like committed actors who make very interesting choices… I’m going to go with Daniel Day Lewis and Cate Blanchett… How about you?

3 Responses to “Who are your favorite actors?”

  1. Anne September 8, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    I don’t get to many movies but I would have to nominate at present Viggo Mortensen as my fav. actor, even though I haven’t seen most of his films!!
    But I love what I”ve read about this guy, and I heard him interviewed on radio too when last in Oz, where he is now promoting new film with young co-star.
    His humility and lack of ego but awareness of self-worth too;, kindness, never denegrates people mindless;y; awesome talent and follows many creative pathways, eg photography, poetry,etc; thoughtfully espouses humanitarian and ‘good’ causes & good people; is fearless in taking a stand for what he believes in; is smart and multilingual; sounds like a v. loving dad; loves animals!; helps fellow actors with time, energy, kindness; chooses roles of different types not just ‘one’ kind, and gives himself very fully to what he does by sounds of it; doesn’t seek cheap exposure to be seen as a ‘star’ or ‘celebrity’, but rather tends to maintain as low key profile as possible; yet a certain amount of fame and success has come to him, without selling his soul as it were;
    A person of very good heart and integrity is the sense I get; thoughtful but not without humour. Yes, he is also what many would consider I expect to be an attractive man physically too who looks younger than his 50 years; but this looks factor is not exploited and is definitely not the reason why I would nominate him as an actor whom I would respect as primarily a fine person, according to my values.

    PS: Welcome back to the Sth. Hemisphere Geoff! Just read you are back in lovely NZ once more for now, and getting some rest and home comforts.
    Take care, keep yr. good heart open and strong : )
    Anne.

  2. Ollie August 30, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Morgan Freeman is my favourite…..He’s someone I’d love to have dinner with one day in my life (yep not likely)….he just seems to have an air about him…..think he’s fantastic. Hope you are enjoying being back in Kiwiland mate 🙂

  3. Amber-Rose August 30, 2009 at 2:27 am #

    Cate Blanchett for sure I love her talent. Plus I’m a big fan of Leo’s work as an actor but my goodness there are hundreds and each for different reasons. As an actress myself those two inspire my performances. I keep their movies on hand for prep before audtions sometimes.

Leave a Reply

