There’s nothing wrong with copying

16 Sep

In creative pursuits people are often afraid of copying. I had a Producer who at one stage was very interested in our feature “Lucky & Rich”but someone who worked for her, read the script and decided that it was thematically similar to a film called “Once” and they passed on the script.

I hadn’t even seen Once, so I did my research and found out that it had a few very vague things in common with our film. At any rate Once was a highly successful film and isn’t being compared to something successful a strong selling point? Tarantino steals just about everything from other films and people love it.

If you can’t come up with anything new I don’t really see the problem with using other peoples work to fire your imagination

One Response to “There’s nothing wrong with copying”

  1. Kid In The Front Row September 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    When I first heard you talk about Lucky and Rich, it made me think of Once, strangely. But then Once makes me think of In Search Of A Midnight Kiss. And on it goes. Little films about people discovering themselves in strange cities, I could watch them all day long — tends to be better than most of the turd coming out of Hollywood anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

