Acting homeless

6 Oct

It’s four months since I have shaved and over year since I had a decent haircut; in every respect (apart from perhaps smell) I look like a gentleman from the streets. People definitely make assumptions based on my personal appearance, in a lot of cases these assumptions seem to form a cardboard cutout stereotype of a homeless bum.

For a long time now I have fought the urge to explain myself; I don’t always win. I have to tell them that “I am not really homeless, I am an actor and a filmmaker, this beard that I am growing, this journey that I’m on, it’s all just part of the role.”

I want them to know that I there is more to me than meets the eye, that I have past and that I have a future, that I have gifts and talents that they don’t know about. I want them to see that there is more to me than they first assume.

I guess the wonderful people who have unfortunately ended up living on the streets often feel exactly the same.

3 Responses to “Acting homeless”

  1. vajrakrishna October 13, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    Bro, I certainly relate to this…

    Sometimes I feel there are two types of filmmakers in the world, and only two – one, the kind that are all about appearances (even and especially when they talk about grand metaphors of the human psyche). And two, the kind who, with time, gradually and in their own pace come to swear allegiance to what is actually important in life… and homelessness all of a sudden seems very close to godliness.

    • geofftalbot October 13, 2009 at 1:36 am #

      hey thanks for your lovely comments I appreciate them. geoff

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Acting homeless « Seven Sentences… [geofftalbot.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com - October 6, 2009

    […] Acting homeless « Seven Sentences… geofftalbot.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/acting-homeless – view page – cached It’s four months since I have shaved and over year since I had a decent haircut; in every respect (apart from perhaps smell) I look like a gentleman from the streets. People definitely make… (Read more)It’s four months since I have shaved and over year since I had a decent haircut; in every respect (apart from perhaps smell) I look like a gentleman from the streets. People definitely make assumptions based on my personal appearance, in a lot of cases these assumptions seem to form a cardboard cutout stereotype of a homeless bum. (Read less) — From the page […]

Leave a Reply

