The world is essentially good…

4 Nov

Is the world essentially good? Or is it essentially bad? You may not enjoy this philosophical debate but I think your answer to this question strongly influences how you will live your life.

Firstly, the actual question is probably… “are people essentially good or essentially bad?”

Please vote as I am really interested in finding out what you think.

I was strongly tempted to offer you a chance to vote “both” or “neither” but I decided not too. You must make a decision (at least for my poll), otherwise you are trapped lukewarm in the ambivalent existential middle…

P:S: If you are reading this blog on Facebook  or via Email Subscription click on Geoff’s WordPress Blog to Vote

2 Responses to “The world is essentially good…”

  1. Corey S November 4, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    I really believe people are naturally born with a deep rooted bias toward evil/bad. Just think, most little kids first words are “Mine” or “No”. You usally have to teach them to share and to be polite. No one has to teach them to steal their siblings toys or push them over when they get upset. Its because it comes quite naturally.

  2. Sonya J November 4, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    It took me a while to think about this. But then I remembered that the reason I smile and say hello to most people down the street, even if they look intimidating, is because I believe we all have a heart and crave love. We are all essentially good. I know this because I see the light in the eyes of gang members when they smile back at me.

Leave a Reply

