This is a terrible story…

18 Dec

I believe that all stories are essentially good but not all stories are well told… Do you agree?

There is very little value in an idea for a film… 99.9% of the value is in the telling.

This means that you don’t need to protect your idea. Instead you need to work really hard at becoming excellent at storytelling.

Can you think of a bad idea for a film or television show? I bet you can’t.

7 Responses to “This is a terrible story…”

  1. Rene December 20, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    What does “excellent at storytelling” mean?

    • geofftalbot December 20, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

      Good question Rene… What does it mean to you?

      In my mind it simply means… not being boring… which covers a whole range of things. Like avoiding repetition, having great characters that are by their very nature human. Having really strong obstacles for these characters to overcome. Also staying relevant and on topic with your story…

      If I were telling you a true story about myself at a party… What keeps your interest? When would you naturally switch off… ect. I like to try and put my stories in that context and then switch them across to, in my case “a screenplay.”

      Make sense?

      • Rene December 20, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

        Well, I guess I’m like most people, who just want to be entertained in the moment, and for who story is a hifalutin concept, meant for well-educated people. However, I’m trying to improve myself, slowly, painfully.

        So right now I can’t really explain what storytelling is, excellent or otherwise, nor what it means for me (well other than it means nothing to me).

      • geofftalbot December 20, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

        I agree with you… being entertained = not being bored.

        Thanks
        Geoff

  2. MayLily December 18, 2009 at 9:07 pm #

    Glen Beck impregnates Sarah Palin and they form a compound of people who share their views.Their progeny inbreed and eventually overtake the USA. Now,you tell me that’s not a bad idea.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments - December 20, 2009

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by GeoffTalbot: write me a terrible story… http://bit.ly/4zF0II

  2. Tweets that mention This is a terrible story… « Seven Sentences… -- Topsy.com - December 20, 2009

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Geoff Talbot, Geoff Talbot. Geoff Talbot said: write me a terrible story… http://bit.ly/4zF0II […]

Leave a Reply

