Imprisonment is good for the soul…

22 Dec

For some unknown reason I find myself drawn to the biographies of great men who have spent a considerable amount of time in prison. At the moment I am reading “Letters and Papers from Prison” by Dietrich Bonhoeffer; a German theologian who opposed Hitler and was in jail for 3 years before he was executed.

When I was young I read “Taken on Trust,” the story of Terry Waite, a man who went to the middle east to talk peace only to be kidnapped and held hostage for four years.

Another time I found myself reading Nelson Mandela’s ” A Long Walk to Freedom;” A book that was largely written during his 27 years in prison.

All these men learned an incredible amount from the solitude that imprisonment forced upon them. Why? I guess it forced them to think a lot about life…

Leave a Reply

