Make the homeless smile…

7 Jan

(Con’d from yesterday)

So I am counting out my small change (shame on me) when I felt a little voice somewhere inside me say… “don’t be a tightwad… give him your twenty.”

Now I would usually recommend buying food for the homeless rather than giving them money; in this way you can be certain that you are fulfilling one of their primary needs… food. However, I have known Ryan for two or three weeks now and he is not simply a homeless person, he’s my friend. I know a lot about him and he knows a lot about me, so I opened up my wallet and I gave him a twenty dollar bill… you would have thought he’s died and gone to heaven. He couldn’t stop grinning, I told him that he wouldn’t have to beg for his food today, that he could just relax and do whatever he wants.

Ryan needs food, he needs a roof over his head, and he also needs money, but he will always be scrounging in the gutter for these things if we don’t give him and people like him are far more important commody… dignity.

5 Responses to “Make the homeless smile…”

  1. theothergardener January 9, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    It is difficult to know exactly what to do in these situations. I have a friend who comes through the city sometimes–he’s a homeless nomad one could say–and he sometimes calls and we get together. He’s quite brilliant, and it makes me feel that I should help him.

    But giving him money seems both inadequate and unwise. Recently I simply stopped answering his calls. He will never change, and I will never change–we belong to separate kingdoms in a sense, the way that some theorists who write about illness point out that the world of the healthy and world of the sick are two different realms. Only I am not too sure which of us is the ill one. To be sick with civilization, or to be through with it, this is the choice.

    Excellent post.
    TOG

  2. sonny January 9, 2010 at 3:53 am #

    This is also odd I was awaken at five in the morning with this name in my head along with Bethany Beach so I googled it and this is what I found.Their was a parrot in my dream repeating this over and over.Srange,I don’t know what it means but that is how I found this page.lol,Peace-Sonny

    • geofftalbot January 9, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      That is strange Sonny… Maybe it means you are going to do something in your life that will really help homeless people? I have a friend who says there is no such thing as a coincidence. If i can help and you feel so inclined email me geoff@evokepictures.com

  3. sonny January 9, 2010 at 3:47 am #

    This is nice

  4. Emiliy January 7, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    love that one

Leave a Reply

