Trip through customs

3 Feb

After travelling through the worst turbulence of all time I arrived back in California late last night. With the thick beard that I am sporting I was expecting a tough time clearing US immigration. I made sure that my accent was distinctly kiwi and I waited with a dry mouth and a fair share of perspiration in the queue at customs…

It’s not that I’ve ever broken any immigration rules… for some reason immigrations queues make me feel guilty even when I am innocent. So I stood there praying and trying to work out which Official I would eventually see; would I get the friendly young guy or the stern old woman? Turns out I got “stern” but stern turned out to be friendly… she didn’t ask any questions and let me straight on through.

Phew… Does he anyone else feel wrongly accused at airport security these days?

5 Responses to “Trip through customs”

  1. theothergardener February 4, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    It’s over. Let it go.

  2. sonny February 4, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Close to five thousand people were murdered on that one day. I will never forget that day and either will the victims families and friends.This “mess” was caused by psychotic violent misguided terrorists no matter who or what they are they are vicious criminals.Peace-Sonny

    • geofftalbot February 4, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more Sonny… nothing justifies

  3. sonny February 4, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    No We need the extra security and I am grateful for it.

  4. theothergardener February 3, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    I do not feel “accused” exactly, so much as responsible. Since I’m an American, and even after long absence from my home-country I still have an undeniable Midwestern nasal tone to my speech, whenever I’m in an airport or train terminal I feel as if I were on notice for being the source of all the digressions in people’s travel plans. After all it was Americans’ overreaction to 9/11 that began this whole mess. If only everyone would just forget about it. It’s over already.
    TOG

Leave a Reply

