Money for Art

16 Feb

Every time I walk past my suit hanging on the door frame I have a strange feeling that I’ll be wearing it again soon. There is the growing sense that I am ready to throw myself out into the Hollywood stratosphere as I attempt again to finance and package my films. I look good in a suit but it kind of feels strange.

It feels strange to make phone calls and meet up with people with the invitation to invest in my films. It reminds me that even art is intrinsically caught up in the business of “selling” and rightfully so. But we shouldn’t be so presumptuous to presume that people invest (buy in) solely on the basis of financial return.

In fact money is seldom a good reason to invest, or a good reason to create art… connection is far better, if your work connects with the right number of people the money will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

