My Coffee Shop Excludes Blacks

12 Mar

Poor is the new black, I found this out yesterday at the coffee shop I frequent in Beverly Hills. A staff member rather embarrassed, took me aside, the conversation went something like this…

“I know that homeless man is your friend (Ryan) but the management have told me that I should ask you not to invite him into the shop.”

“Why?”

“Because customers complain.”

“Why do they complain?”

“I don’t know, I’m sorry.”

My homeless friend Ryan isn’t that dirty, he doesn’t smell, he isn’t rude and he was their to purchase and drink coffee with a friend. Oh and by the way… he isn’t black…

3 Responses to “My Coffee Shop Excludes Blacks”

  1. sonny March 13, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    This is true in many places.I would not go to a low class establishment like this.It makes you wonder who cleans these snobs wash rooms.

  2. JP March 12, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Why don’t you ask management to ask the other people to leave? Apparently, you don’t need a good reason.

    • geofftalbot March 12, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

      Good point… I actually think the ungracious people should be asked to leave… would be interesting to see

Leave a Reply

