The Story of Claude – Part 9

29 Apr

Charlotte was a beautiful, life changing experience, my first time in America’s South. Claude met me at the airport with his childhood friend, an African-American Dandy (fashionista) called “Gresham.” The car ride to hotel was one of the funniest experiences of my life, these guys were outrageously funny, nothing was off limits, not even Claude’s down syndrome son Dominique.

For the next seven days I was immersed in the African-American culture and I loved it. I rarely talked to another white person. I was one of three white guys (dancing embarrassingly badly) at Claude’s birthday party. I went to a gentlemen’s business meeting at a “Barbers Shop,” I even let the Dandy dress me like a real Southern Gent.

It was a truly amazing time, hanging out with some of the most beautiful people on earth, race and individual heritage weren’t an issue to separate but to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

