Doubt is an obstacle

29 May

Doubt is an obstacle that proves our faith, it is a mountain that we must climb to strengthen our resolve. I often search for a path without doubt, for an easier route to the mountain top without any obstacles. Such a way does not exist, not in this lifetime.

Right now I am filled with doubt, doubting my ability, doubting my strength, doubting that I have the perseverance to keep on going. I take comfort in the fact that these chapters or scenes exist inside of every great story. Doubt mustn’t be ignored, it must be wrestled to the ground, it must be overcome.

Doubt is after all an obstacle in the path of those who dare to dream of something bigger than themselves.

3 Responses to “Doubt is an obstacle”

  1. Amber-Rose May 29, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    I’m with you Geoff and am encouraged immensely by you sharing, as it reminds me I am not alone in my struggles. Doubt/Fear is my daily battle.

  2. Stephen Brunton May 29, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    My dear friend….. let us pretend for a moment you were the proud father of a healthy little boy or girl…. You would never doubt your healthy toddler would one day walk. Witnessing many falls, trips and false starts you would never give up on the little tyke would you….? No, you’d have absolute certainty that one day your child will walk. That Geoff is why most all children walk – because certainty kills doubt. Now go out and live this day with certainty and ‘walk’ your dreams to reality.
    Kiakaha mate.

    • geofftalbot May 29, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      wow. that is a very great and encouraging comment my friend! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

