Watching the Nightmare Unfold…

4 Aug

I have failed. I have not yet financed my film, I have a credit card debt I cannot pay and I have to leave America on August 25th. Everyone tells you to “follow your dreams,” especially if they are NOT doing so themselves. There is something else that no one ever says…

“It is not a matter of how hard you work, or how big you dream, or how much positive thinking you gargle around in your mouth. If it is not written in the stars, then it is not written in the stars, men don’t make men great… God does.” Only a fool pays homage to himself… I am not great, I am very ordinary,

6 Responses to “Watching the Nightmare Unfold…”

  1. M August 6, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Geoff… do yourself a favor. Send your script to who you know. If you get an appointment, you will be my guest here if you want. If not written in the stars ? I borrow you my pen, it writes well 😉 (and you give it back as I still need it for my own projects).
    I do agree with Amber Rose, if you really want to make your film, you will make it. Hollywood or not. Fortunately, all the successful people in the world do not come, live, dream in Hollywood ! I was not liking the place according to the experience I had with people coming from there, now I read your blog, the image is even worse. It sounds like a big Woodstock for depressed people and lost dreams, even a shrink would be scared ! They do not let you get into the big dream through the door ? Try the window. Have your first film financed somewhere else and if Hollywood is really part of your dream, come back through the big gate. But you know what’s the biggest success in life ? It is to be happy. This is the recurrent conversation I have with all the ‘winners’, the billionnaires getting out of their beautiful yachts moored in Port Canto… when I need to read ant they need to talk to ‘ordinary’ people 😉

  2. Todd Hume August 5, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    Mate. In my eyes you are a hero. Pure and simple. You have displayed super-human bravery in your journey thus far. What an inspiration! YEAH!

    Who knows the true destination of your expedition? It may have nothing to do with your goals as you know them? Perhaps its not the destination but rather the journey that is important? Only time will tell.

    All i know is that you are living a fucking amazing adventure and we blog readers are blessed to be given a window through which to glimpse it.

    You are an insanely prolific seeder of opportunities and i look forward to continue reading about what sprouts, grows and reaches for the sky around you.

    Thank you for sharing your story.

    Peace Bro. You are on the right path.

    Todd

  3. Corey Shields August 4, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Dear Geoff,

    You are about as ordinary as a whistling tasmanian tiger walking down the street. You had a dream and you had the guts to follow it. That dream brought you all across the world and let you meet all kinds of awesome people and see cool things. Things ordinary people probably won’t ever see.

    You followed your dream even though it cost you almost everything. There are alot of people out there who won’t dare to take that kind of risk but only dream about it. You have been an inspiration to me and all of us who have been following your story.

    You should be proud of yourself. You did good.

    And like that other guy said above. This may not be the end. When God is involved, dead things have a funny way of not staying dead.

    Take courage my friend
    ~Corey

  4. matt bacon August 4, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Hello Geoff,

    I have been following your blog for only a short time but already I can see that your passion, creativity and honesty are anything but ordinary. I know that this blog comment doesn’t help you with practical problems (dreaded credit) But if I could encourage you like your posts have encouraged me I would say too you that this is not the end. But a detour on the journey that you are travelling. The one thing you will never need finance for is creativity. Good luck Geoff I truly wish you all the best in the coming days and weeks.

  5. amber-rose August 4, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Geoff me and all the people I share your story and blog with will still be following your life with interest and prayer no matter what you decide. You are not ordinary, you are inspirational, extraordinary and you have great ideas, you will make these films even if they have to be in a low budget NZ style, they will still be great because like you’ve said before it’s all about the story in one way or another.

    Not going anywhere

    Amber

  6. Mark Shields August 4, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I am very sorry to read this post Geoff. Of all the words I could choose to describe you, ordinary would never enter my head. Unique, visionary, funny and talented yes. Ordinary never. You have not failed, it’s only over when you say it is. It may be a different vision than you originally envisaged or in a different direction but I have no doubt it will be any less successful. If you can, keep the faith my friend.

Leave a Reply

