Don’t tell my story… tell your own

7 Oct

Every now and then someone will throw me a really lovely compliment by saying… “your life is such an adventure, I feel like I am living vicariously through you.” STOP IT! You don’t compliment me by insulting yourself. My story has no real power if it doesn’t inspire you to live your own. It’s just some grandiose story of reckless abandonment if it doesn’t live outside of itself.

Why do you need to be inspired anyway, isn’t the thought of going through your whole life with an unfulfilled dream or purpose powerful enough? Maybe it’s time to stop telling other people’s stories and start writing your own…

One Response to “Don’t tell my story… tell your own”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Don’t tell my story… tell your own « Seven Sentences… -- Topsy.com - October 7, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Geoff Talbot, Al Ronberg. Al Ronberg said: RT @GeoffTalbot: Don't tell my story… tell your own: http://t.co/RV85Edn […]

Leave a Reply

