I am struggling with confidence…

23 Mar

I am prone to feelings of inadequacy, there are times when I seem to misplace my confidence and I wonder whether I will ever find it again. I am having one of these moments right now.

To be truly artistic requires a huge amount of vulnerability. When you read a film script, watch an actor perform, listen to a song or look at a painting, you should feel as though you know the author. The work needs to reveal something of its creator… if does not, then they haven’t invested… if they haven’t made themselves vulnerable… they have failed.

This is why it is easy for the artist to struggle with feelings of inadequacies; they put themselves on the line, they open up and show you their vulnerable, sensitive internal self. The artist maybe the only true brave soul, for there is much rejection, whether it be intended so or not.

Leave a Reply

