…stealing the ink from your pen…

18 Apr

Imagine falling in love for the first time; you can’t eat, you can’t sleep, you can’t think about anything other than the one you love; your artistic life has been wrecked and you can no longer create.

This kind of love is a dangerous thing… for it forces the artist to face the truth, life is about something far greater than his or her own art. For though the pen maybe mightier than the sword… glorious love is greater than them all.

A pen may write a million words in a fervent search for love, and yet it may never find. For love can never be found on a page, or a stage, or inside a frame. Love is found not in the work of our hands but in the very fabric of our hearts…

Pardon the interruption… but when love comes and interrupts your creativity… take heed for love has not come to steal it has come to… love…

10 Responses to “…stealing the ink from your pen…”

  1. John Plumridge April 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Ah yes, love, something I’ve been working on, or more accurately, preparing myself for. This post reminded me of a tweet I had composed in my head: @descartes: #Knowledge, with which to see all things –> “doubting love, could I ever get to know it?”

    But I clean forgot to send it! Thanks for reminding me.

  2. Misty Muse April 22, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    I would call what your describing frustration more than love. That might be completely under the influence of what I have been through lately though.

    Usually I feel more creative when I am in love and or happy, less artistic when I am frustrated.

    • geofftalbot April 22, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Yes definitely frustration can be the killer

    • John Plumridge April 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      ‘Falling in love’, hah – love mixed with lust, as it usually is, precedes the fall. Yes, I suppose it is within the bounds of all possibility for a man to love a woman, as well and, in our times.

  3. Go-Go Rach April 22, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I’ve never been lucky in love, so I cannot say if my creativity suffers. I’d be thrilled to give a shot, though! 🙂

  4. APURVA April 20, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    I have known a few women, who fueled my poetry but they never chose to stay. real love who fuels me and stays too, i haven’t been lucky with that.

    • geofftalbot April 20, 2011 at 7:05 am #

      i pray you will be friend

  5. writerunblocked April 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    My creativity ran to hide shortly after I said, “I do.” It just recently returned two years ago at full speed. I have so much to say……

    • geofftalbot April 19, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      good good good

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seven Sentence Audience Goes Through the Roof « Seven Sentences… - May 1, 2011

    […] Is love good for your creativity…Stealing Ink from your Pen.  […]

Leave a Reply

